Piedmont Funeral Services at Mountain View Cemetery in Oakland, California spacer

2015 Events

April

Tulip Extravaganza Stop by and admire thousands of Dutch tulips in bloom!

April 4 Sat., 12–3pm

Free Photos with the Easter Bunny Tower Chapel

A new Mountain View Cemetery Easter tradition! This special event includes a free family photo with the Easter Bunny and plastic eggs (one per child) filled with treats. We’ll also be serving cookies, coffee, and lemonade. Admission to this event is free, no reservations required. Just show up in your spring finery and leave with an Easter memory to treasure for years to come.

April 4–5

Ching Ming Festival (Remembrance of Ancestors) Enjoy complimentary refreshments all weekend long as we observe this annual Chinese tradition.

April 5

Ching Ming (Remembrance of Ancestors Day)

April 5

Easter

April 11 Sat., 10am

Exploring Mountain View Cemetery Free docent-led tour highlighting the people, architecture, beauty and history of Mountain View Cemetery.

April 25 Sat., 10am

Symbolism Free docent-led tour by Sandy Rauch.

May 9 Sat., 10am

Exploring Mountain View Cemetery Free docent-led tour highlighting the people, architecture, beauty and history of Mountain View Cemetery.

May 10

Mother’s Day

May 23 Sat., 10am

Trees of Mountain View Cemetery Free docent-led tourby Chris Pattillo.

May 25 Mon., 10am

94th Annual Memorial Day Commemoration Presentation of colors, salute to the fallen, and guest speakers.

May 25 Mon., 11:30am

Memorial Day Civil War Plot Tour
(led by Dennis Evanosky)
Dennis, who has also led tours at the Pardee Home and Oakland’s Preservation Park, gives a general tour with special emphasis on the Civil War and the role Californians played in the conflict.

June 13 Sat., 10am

Exploring Mountain View Cemetery Free docent-led tour highlighting the people, architecture, beauty and history of Mountain View Cemetery.

June 20 Sat., 10am–Noon

Celebration of Mountain View Cemetery’s 150 years Music, refreshments, speakers at Millionaire’s Row.

June 21

Father’s Day

June 27 Sat., 10am

Oral Traditions, Food Mavericks and Literary Lions Free docent-led tour by Barbara Gibson.

July 11 Sat., 10am

Exploring Mountain View Cemetery Free docent-led tour highlighting the people, architecture, beauty and history of Mountain View Cemetery.

July 18 Sat., 10am

”Amazing Race” Event of Notables at Mountain View Cemetery

July 25 Sat., 10am

Coming and Going in the East Bay Free docent-led tour by Ruby Long.
California transportation pioneers — from manufacturer of ropes to those who laid tracts for streetcars – they all made ‘coming and going’ in the East Bay what it is today.

August 8 Sat., 10am

Exploring Mountain View Cemetery Free docent-led tour highlighting the people, architecture, beauty and history of Mountain View Cemetery.

August 22 Sat., 10am

160 Years of Oakland History Free docent-led tour by Ron Bachman.

September 12 Sat., 10am

Exploring Mountain View Cemetery Free docent-led tour highlighting the people, architecture, beauty and history of Mountain View Cemetery.

September 26 Sat., 10am

Uc Berkeley Founders and Leaders Free docent-led tour by Jane Leroe and Ron Bachman.

October 10 Sat., 10am

Exploring Mountain View Cemetery Free docent-led tour highlighting the people, architecture, beauty and history of Mountain View Cemetery.

October 24 Sat., 10am

Architects and Architecture Free docent-led tour by Stafford Buckley.

October 31 Sat., Noon–3pm

10th Annual Pumpkin Festival Celebrate Halloween at our fun-filled pumpkin patch meadow, with free pumpkins, activities, onsite food trucks, and treats for the kids!

Note: Docents scheduled are subject to change
We will update the calendar with November and December events later in the year.